News and Information

CaroMont Health Announces 2015 Scholarship Recipients


The CaroMont Health Foundation and CaroMont Regional Medical Center Auxiliary today announced the 2015 scholarship recipients. Nearly $150,000 was awarded to 28 outstanding students during a special reception at CaroMont Regional Medical Center on Wednesday, May 20.

“All of our scholarship recipients demonstrate tremendous leadership potential and academic excellence that represent the core values of these scholarships,” said Doug Luckett, President and CEO at CaroMont Health. “Supporting these students in their pursuit of a health care career and continuing their education is essential for growth and creating future leaders in our industry.”

Funding for these scholarships is provided by donations to the CaroMont Health Foundation and the CaroMont Regional Medical Center Auxiliary.

The Wayne F. Shovelin Scholarship

The Wayne F. Shovelin Scholarship was founded in 2009 when the CaroMont Health Foundation received a generous donation from the Duke Kimbrell Family Fund in appreciation for the 33 years of health-focused service and leadership provided by then CaroMont Health President and CEO Wayne Shovelin. This prestigious scholarship was recently revamped to provide one student a four year scholarship worth $80,000. Bailey Thomasson, senior at South Point High School, is the recipient of the Wayne F. Shovelin Scholarship.

Ms. Thomasson is ranked second in her class at South Point High School and plans to major in Biology at UNC Chapel Hill in her pursuit of a medical degree as a pediatric orthopedic surgeon. During her high school career, she has earned numerous academic accolades, as well as completing 15 Advanced Placement (AP) classes. Ms. Thomasson is active in a number of extracurricular school activities including varsity soccer, member of Model United Nations and several other clubs at her school, and she volunteered as a counselor at Camp Joy, a program for children and adults with developmental needs, for two consecutive summers. A certified scuba diver, Ms. Thomasson plans to spend several weeks this summer with her AP Biology class in Samos, Greece, collecting field data from both aquatic and terrestrial sites.

The Mr. and Mrs. Joe R. Hudson Nursing Scholarship

Mr. and Mrs. Joe Hudson established the Hudson Scholarship in 1974, to support students and help staff the new Gaston Memorial Hospital. Awards from this scholarship loan program are awarded to students accepted into nursing programs and who intend to become or remain a CaroMont Health employee after completing their studies. Recipients of the Joe R. Hudson Nursing Scholarship are: Olivia Anderson, Carmen Cloninger, Patricia Goble, Dee Dee Howell, Ashley Isaac-Dockery, Renee Lawing and Victoria Lingenfelter.

The Lonnie and Rachel Waggoner Nursing Education Scholarship

The Lonnie and Rachel Waggoner Nursing Education Scholarship is a permanent endowment established in 2005. Awards from this scholarship are given to students seeking an accredited degree in the field of nursing (LPN, RN or BSN). Recipients of the Lonnie and Rachel Waggoner Nursing Education Scholarship are: Lauren Biggers and Catherine Bynum.

The H. Spurgeon Mackie, Jr. Scholarship

The Mackie Scholarship was established in 2006, in honor of H. Spurgeon Mackie, Jr., a long-standing Board Member and friend of CaroMont Health, upon his retirement from Wachovia Bank. Awards from this scholarship program are given to students majoring or continuing their education in nursing and/or allied health professions. Recipients of the H. Spurgeon Mackie, Jr. Scholarship are: Wanda Flowers, Daniel McCurry, Yvonne Nguyen and Jessica Weathers.

Lee Bucci Professional Nursing Scholarship

The Bucci Scholarship Fund was established in 2012, in honor of Lee Bucci, retiring Director of Gaston Hospice. This scholarship is awarded to a student seeking an accredited degree in the field of nursing (LPN, RN, or BSN), with special consideration given to the field of palliative care. Julie Scott is this year’s recipient of the Lee Bucci Professional Nursing Scholarship.

The Gertrude Clinton Health Career Scholarship Fund

The scholarship was established by the Gaston Memorial Hospital Auxiliary in 1971 as a revolving loan fund. Following Mrs. Gertrude Clinton’s death, the fund was changed to a scholarship in her memory. Mrs. Clinton served as Gaston County Social Services Director, Personnel Director for CaroMont Health, and was a founding member and President of the Gaston Memorial Hospital Auxiliary.Recipients of the Gertrude Clinton Health Career Scholarship Fund include: Olivia Anderson, Taylor Bailey, Lauren Biggers, Hannah Broome, Shallie Bryant, Catherine Bynum, Page East, Wanda Flowers, Patricia Goble, Kim Gullstrand, Jason Hance, Ashley Isaac-Dockery, Kristin Lewis, Victoria Lingenfelter, Josie Lucas, Brooke Malone, Lisa Marlow, Daniel McCurry, Addison McElveen, Taylor McEntire, Macey McSwain, Hannah Merritt, Pam Moss, Susan Murphy, Yvonne Nguyen, Haley O’Brien, Karin Okonski, Misty Partin, Sharon Pilkington, Amanda Pritchett, Courtney Psomadakis, Cora Robb, Paula Robb, Bethany Sawyer, Julie Scott, Elizabeth Scronce, Sonni Sly, Deven Smirz, Kristin Smith, Lindsey Smith, Maelia Stamey, Daphney Tench, Austin Toney, Jessica Weathers, Makayla Wykle and Sharon Zurline.

Categories: Recent News, Health