News and Information

CaroMont Foundation Announces Scholarship Recipients


The CaroMont Health Foundation has announced the 2011 recipients of the Wayne F. Shovelin Scholarship Fund. The group of 11 includes Courtney Bumgarner, Leah Cupp, Liza Wilbanks, Blair Gibson, Navreet Singh, Andrew Nguyen, Brittany Parker, Catherine Campbell, Taylor Courtney, Kacee Griffin and Erica Marquard.

About the Program

Wayne Shovelin made many contributions in positioning CaroMont Health as a prominent health care provider in North Carolina. Shovelin retired in September 2009, concluding 23 years as President and Chief Executive Officer of CaroMont Health. That year, CaroMont

Health supporter, Duke Kimbrell, pledged a generous endowment of $2.25 million to establish the Wayne F. Shovelin Scholarship Fund in order to promote higher education and engage learning for CaroMont Health employees, volunteers and families.

As a token of appreciation, CaroMont Health dedicated the fourth floor Critical Care Unit wall to the Kimbrell family in December 2010 for their generosity in helping to institute the scholarship.

Recipients were chosen based on their individual financial needs, future career aspirations in health care and current scholastic standing. Each scholarship candidate was interviewed by CaroMont Health’s Foundation Board.