CaroMont Health Foundation

Scholarship Opportunities

Previous scholarship winners for CaroMount Health

Wayne F. Shovelin Scholarship

The CaroMont Health Foundation is pleased to announce the application cycle for the 2023 Wayne F. Shovelin Scholarship.

A link to the online application can be found here.

The application deadline is 11:59 p.m. on Wednesday, December 14.

The Wayne F. Shovelin Scholarship is Gaston County’s equivalent to the Morehead Cain or Park Scholarships, with a focus on nurturing excellence in the healthcare profession. Today, the Shovelin Scholarship recognizes high academic rigor, school and community involvement, and the volunteerism of a high school senior who is a resident of Gaston County or the child of a CaroMont Health employee, and who is pursuing college studies in preparation for a profession in healthcare.

Before retiring in 2009, Wayne F. Shovelin served as CEO at CaroMont Health (previously named Gaston Healthcare, Inc.) for 23 years. Through his leadership, Mr. Shovelin created a vigorous policy of sustained capital investments in technological and facility enhancements, as well as a creative and ethical working environment to attract the best talents in the medical and allied health professions to serve the people of this region.

In 2009, Duke and Dot Kimbrell made a generous donation to CaroMont Health Foundation in honor of Wayne F. Shovelin. Their gift was used to create the Wayne F. Shovelin Scholarship Fund and support a competitive scholarship program for exceptional high school seniors pursuing careers in healthcare. We are grateful for their investment and collaboration to focus on attracting and educating outstanding medical professionals through the creation of this prestigious scholarship.

Additional Scholarships

The CaroMont Health Foundation is pleased to offer scholarships to CaroMont Health employees and Gaston County residents who are interested in entering or pursuing a career in healthcare. The Foundation and Auxilary Scholarship application opens each year in January, with a deadline of February 27.

Please direct questions to the Foundation Office at 704.834.4034 or

The following information outlines eligibility for available scholarships:

Amanda George Self Emergency Medicine Scholarship
The Amanda George Self Emergency Medicine Scholarship Fund was created in 2018 in memory of Amanda Self and in honor of her fifteen years with CaroMont Health’s Emergency Department. Initial funds for this scholarship were given by her colleagues and friends in celebration of her enthusiasm for education and support for her peers. Annual support is received from colleagues and friends and employee giving through the Team CaroMont campaign. Awards from this scholarship are given to students pursuing education in emergency medicine.

Lee Bucci Professional Nursing Scholarship
The Bucci Scholarship Fund was established in 2012, in honor of Lee Bucci, retiring Director of Gaston Hospice. Awards from this scholarship are given to students seeking an accredited degree in the field of nursing (LPN, RN, or BSN). Special consideration is given to a student who has an interest in working in the field of palliative care.

Lonnie and Rachel Waggoner Nursing Education Scholarship
The Lonnie and Rachel Waggoner Nursing Education Scholarship is a permanent endowment established in 2005. Awards from this scholarship are given to students seeking an accredited degree in the field of nursing (LPN, RN or BSN).

Marty D'Amore Scholarship
The Dr. Marty D'Amore Scholarship Fund was established in 2015 following the death of Dr. D'Amore after a long battle with ALS (Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis). The fund was created and supported by donations from physicians and the medical community. Awards from this scholarship are given to students accepted or enrolled in an accredited Radiology Services program.

Mr. and Mrs. Joe R. Hudson Nursing Scholarship
Mr. and Mrs. Joe Hudson established the Hudson Scholarship in 1974, to support students and help staff the new CaroMont Regional Medical Center. Awards from this scholarship loan program are given based on organizational needs, scholastics and acceptance into nursing professions for area students. Recipients are required to sign a promissory note that they intend to become or remain an employee of CaroMont Health after completing their studies.

Team CaroMont Scholarship
The Team CaroMont Scholarship was established in 2015 and is funded by employee contributions to the Team CaroMont campaign. All applicants must be employees of CaroMont Health or one of its subsidiaries. Scholarship funds may be used for degree and select non-degree programs.

The CaroMont Health Auxiliary Gertrude Clinton Health Career Scholarship The scholarship was established by the Gaston Memorial Hospital Auxiliary in 1971. Mrs. Gertrude Clinton served as Gaston County Social Services Director, Personnel Director for CaroMont Health, and was a founding member and President of the Auxiliary. Following Mrs. Clinton’s death, the scholarship fund was renamed in her memory. The purpose of this scholarship is to assist students pursuing an education in health-related programs.

Main Title