News and Information

CaroMont Health Honors 2014 Scholarship Beneficiaries


The CaroMont Health Foundation and the CaroMont Regional Medical Center Auxiliary will present more than $150,000 in college scholarships this evening at a reception at CaroMont Regional Medical Center.

“CaroMont Health has a long and exciting history of providing scholarship assistance to students studying for health care careers,” said Debbie Windley, CaroMont Health Foundation Director. “We are thrilled to be able to recognize and encourage the academic pursuits of more than 50 students this year who plan to receive initial or advanced degrees in a variety of health-related programs.”

Funding for the CaroMont Health Foundation scholarships is provided through five scholarship programs administered through the Foundation.

The Wayne Shovelin Scholarship was established in 2009 by the Duke Kimbrell family in honor of Shovelin’s many contributions to CaroMont Health, including his 23 years as President and CEO of the organization. This year’s recipients of the Wayne F. Shovelin Scholarship are: Catherine Campbell, Taylor Courtney, Blair Gibson, Kacee Griffin, Erica Marquard, Andrew Nguyen, Brittany Parker and Navreet Singh.

The Mr. and Mrs. Joe R. Hudson Nursing Scholarship was established in 1974 to support students and help staff the new CaroMont Regional Medical Center at that time. Awards from this scholarship loan program are given based on organizational needs, scholastics and acceptance into nursing programs for area students. Recipients of the Hudson Scholarship are: Angela Black, Tamisha Clemons, Kristina Garmon, Elizabeth Haynes, Suzanne Howell, Brittany Lutz, Susan Murphy, Haley O’Brien, Shasta Pruitt, Cora Robb, Julie Scott, Maelia Stamey, Daphney Tench, Ashley Triplett and Sara Willis.

The H. Spurgeon Mackie, Jr. Scholarship was established in 2006 in honor of H. Spurgeon Mackie, Jr., upon his retirement from Wachovia Bank. This year’s recipients of the Mackie Scholarship are:

Taylor Bailey, Allison Cauthen, Kristen Lahm, Logan Lingerfelt, Josie Lucas, Taylor McEntire, Lyndsay Richard, Bethany Sawyer, Austin Toney and Makayla Wykle.

The Lonnie and Rachel Waggoner Nursing Education Scholarship is a permanent endowment established in 2005. Awards from this scholarship fund are given to students seeking an accredited degree in the field of nursing. Recipients of the Waggoner Scholarship this year are as follows:

Lauren Biggers, Catherine Bynum and Shay Sommer.

Funding for the CaroMont Regional Medical Center Auxiliary is provided through The Gertrude Clinton Health Career Scholarship Fund. Mrs. Clinton served as Gaston County Social Services Director, CaroMont Regional Personnel Director and Auxiliary President. Mrs. Clinton was also a founding member of the hospital auxiliary. This year’s recipients of the Clinton Scholarship are: Jon Arrowood, Lauren Biggers, Angie Black, Hannah Broome, Shallie Bryant, Tamisha Clemons, Jalyn Gamble, Elizabeth Haynes, Kristen Lahm, Deidre Lemon, Tristy Love, Josie Lucas, Taylor McEntire, Andrew Nguyen, Yvonne Nguyen, Haley O’Brien, Shasta Pruitt, Natalie Schrader, Elizabeth Scronce, Deven Smirz, Maelia Stamey, Austin Toney, Ashley Triplett, Jessica Weathers, Kelsey Whitesides, Sara Willis and Makayla Wykle.